One step closer…

Since I’ve last written I have passed my first set of exams required for me to fully become a financial advisor. This past Friday I took and passed the state health, accident, and life insurance exams, allowing me to sell various insurance and annuities in the state of Hawaii. It’s an exciting step in the right direction, and I look forward to continuing down this path.

The hardest part of my job is extending my current network beyond its current standpoint, in order to find and identify possible clients. I’m reading a few books on the topic, such as “Never Eat Alone” by Keith Ferrazzi, to learn of ways to build successful business relationships with people that I meet in my day to day life.

Tonight I’ll be going to a reception followed by a speech by Joseph Stiglitz, 2001 Nobel laureate for Economics. It’ll be interesting to meet an economist that wrote many of the books I was required to read in college.

I’ve been working between 60 and 70 hours a week, so I haven’t had much time to myself or to enjoy the islands. Luckily, it’s been gloomy and rainy lately, so I haven’t felt as though I’ve missed much. I know that once the summer weather starts to show up, I’ll be wishing I had more time to enjoy the beach, and hopefully by then I’ll be able to hit the beach on the weekends.

It’s hard to believe that we’re already nearly a quarter of the way through 2012. To think of where my life was exactly a year ago (about to move in with an extremely psychotic ex-girlfriend that would forever change my life) and compare it to where I am today, I can’t help but feel grateful for my present state. From all the mud I’ve been dragged through and all the slander I’ve unjustly incurred within the past year or two, I’ve finally reached a point where I feel as though I’m on the path to a successful life.

Leave a Reply

